Home > News > Archive > s20150310
Time domain astronomy at NAM-2015 1400 GMT 10 March 2015

The LT Group and Astrophysics Research Institute, Liverpool John Moores University have once again organised two sessions at the U.K.'s National Astronomy Meeting. Hosted by the Royal Astronomical Society, NAM-2015 will be held at Venue Cymru in Llandudno, North Wales. As part of the week-long festivities, two 90 minute sessions are being organised which will focus on time domain astronomy with robotic telescopes. These sessions will be held on Thursday, 9 July, at 9 am and 1.30 pm. Although the abstract submission deadline has passed, the meeting website is still open for registration. Further details are available at the official NAM-2015 website.


Time domain astronomy with robotic telescopes: the science that drives the technology

With the growing number of "triggers" induced by wide-field and all-sky surveys such as VVV, iPTF/zPTF, PanSTARRS, ASAS-SN and now Gaia, our sessions will review the current status of time domain astronomy and, specifically, the way in which robotic telescopes react to these triggers.

The first of two sessions will cover the science that forms the backbone of transient and time domain astronomy: Nova and supernova, GRBs, CVs and Be-type stars, variable YSOs, X-Ray transients, tidal disruption events, etc. In the second session we will review the new technologies that are being proposed and/or developed to address these science areas: developments at existing robotic facilities but also new concepts for future telescopes and instrumentation.

A broad range of oral and poster presentations have been received. The programme of talks will be posted here and at the NAM-2015 website when these become available. In the meantime, all those interested in the transient universe are encourage to visit the NAM-2015 homepage to register for the meeting. Note that it is possible to register for just one day if you can't manage the full week.

For further details on our two sessions please don't hesitate to contact a member of the Science Organising Committee. Note, however, that logistical information is only available from the official NAM-2015 website.

Science Organising Committee

Chris Davis, Iain Steele, Chris Copperwheat, David Bersier, Rob Smith and Paolo Mazzali. Contact details are available here.